Scranton Philharmonic Orchestra program for "Nevada"

Identifier: 2012-27

Scope and Contents

The collection contains a program for the Scranton Philharmonic Orchestra’s 12th season, in which they performed “Nevada” by Ulric Cole. The program includes two sections on the piece, one by Cole and the other by the Orchestra's conductor, Frieder Weissmann, as well as a biography of Cole. Additionally, a letter written by Cole to John Koontz, Nevada Secretary of State, is also included. In it, Cole talks about the performance of the “Nevada” and information about Mr. and Mrs. William Scranton’s stay in Reno during World War II.


  • 1949


Conditions Governing Access

Collection is open for research. Materials must be used on-site; advance notice suggested. Access to parts of this collection may be restricted under provisions of state or federal law.

Biographical Note

Born in New York City in 1905, Ulric Cole spent her childhood in Los Angeles, California. Her parents, both professional musicians, begin to give her instruction in piano when she was five years old. Shortly after she began to compose piano compositions, some of which later appeared as a book of children's teaching pieces. At 18 she went to New York, where she studied advanced counterpoint with Percy Goetschius and piano with George Boyle at the Institute of Musical Art. The following year she was awarded two fellowships at the Julliard Graduate School, studying composition with Rubin Goldmark and piano with Josef Lhevinne. After three years at Julliard, she went abroad for two years, living in France and Spain. Returning to New York, Cole studied another two years with Rubin Goldmark, at which time she wrote her first String Quartet, a Suite for Trio and Divertimento for String Orchestra and Piano.

Among her best-known published works are her Sonata for Violin and Piano, Quintet for Piano and Strings, Divertimento for String Orchestra and Piano, and three "Metropolitones" for piano. Manuscript works include her Two Sketches for String Orchestra, a Suite for Trio, two Sting Orchestra, a Suite for Trio, two String Quartets and a second Sonata for Violin and Piano.

Nevada was one of two pieces for orchestra completed by Cole in 1949.

Biographical / Historical

The Mr. and Mrs. William Scranton mentioned are probably Senator and later Pennsylvania Governor William Scranton, who was stationed in Reno during World War II "in connection with the Air Transport Command," and his wife, Mary Lowe Chamberlain.


0.4 Linear Feet (2 items in 1 folder)

Language of Materials



The Scranton Philharmonic Orchestra performed Ulric Cole's composition "Nevada" in October 1949. Cole was a Julliard-educated composer who wrote the piece "Nevada" in 1949. The collection contains the Scranton Philharmonic Orchestra's 12th season program for the performance of "Nevada" as well as a letter from Cole to John Koontz, Nevada's Secretary of State at the time.


Arranged without hierarchy.

Immediate Source of Acquisition

Transferred as a donation from the Nevada State Archives by Susan Searcy in December 2012.


Guide to Scranton Philharmonic Orchestra program for "Nevada"
Jessica Maddox
December 2018
Description rules
Describing Archives: A Content Standard
Language of description
Script of description
Code for undetermined script

Repository Details

Part of the University of Nevada, Reno. Special Collections Department Repository

Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center
1664 N. Virginia St.
Reno Nevada 89557-0322 USA
775-682-5724 (Fax)