Savage Mining Company Records
Scope and Contents
The Savage Mining Company Records represent the company’s mining operations from 1864-1920. The records include annual reports, 1871-1874 and 1901-1917; assessment of shares, 1877-1882; records of bullion shipped to San Francisco, 1868; and account books, 1883-1884 and 1915-1920.
- Savage Mining Company (Virginia City, Nev.) (Organization)
Conditions Governing Access
Collection is open for research. Materials must be used on-site; advance notice suggested. Access to parts of this collection may be restricted under provisions of state or federal law.
Part of the Middle Mines of the Comstock Lode, the 800 feet Savage Mine was staked in 1859 by A. O. and L. C. Savage and others between the Hale & Norcross and the Gould and Curry Mines; operations began in 1860. The North Potosi and the Birdsall Companies' claims were annexed by the Savage as the result of a lawsuit. Mining commenced in 1863; little ore was located during the period 1865 to 1873. In 1875 the Chollar-Potosi, Hale & Norcross, and Savage Companies combined to explore greater depths. In 1895 the Savage became part of the Brunswick Exploration Company.
2.1 Linear Feet (4 boxes)
Language of Materials
Part of the Middle Mines of the Comstock Lode, the 800 foot Savage Mine was staked in 1859 by A. O. and L. C. Savage and others. Contains records of mining operations, including annual reports, 1871-1874 and 1901-1917; assessment of shares, 1877-1882; records of bullion shipped to San Francisco, 1868; and account books, 1883-1884 and 1915-1920.
Arranged into the following series: 1) Reports; 2) Assessment Roll; 3) Bullion and Ore Shipments; 4) Accounts; 5) Miscellaneous
Immediate Source of Acquisition
Acquired from an unknown source circa 1965.
- Guide to the Savage Mining Company Records
- Jacquelyn Sundstrand
- August 2010
- Description rules
- Describing Archives: A Content Standard
- Language of description
- Script of description
- Code for undetermined script