Skip to main content

University of Nevada, Reno, Human Relations Commission Records

Identifier: AC 0092
This collection consists of Commission minutes and general correspondence.


  • 1968-1975



Collection is open for research. Materials must be used on-site; advance notice suggested. Access to parts of this collection may be restricted under provisions of state or federal law.


0.5 Cubic Feet


This collection consists of Commission minutes and general correspondence.

Historical Note

The Human Relations Commission was formed in June 1968 by university president N. Edd Miller, when called upon by the Human Relations Action Council to publicly affirm the university's opposition to all attitudes and practices which would discourage members of minority groups from applying or remaining at the University. The first meeting was held in September and was charged by Miller with a ten-point program which covered all the major proposals recommended by the Human Relations Action Council. A number of the members appointed to the Commission were also active members of the Council. In 1975 it was merged, along with the Commission on the Status of Women and the Affirmative Action Compliance Committee to form the Equal Opportunity Committee (also known as the Euqal Opportunity Board).

Chairs of the Commission were: Jose Peer, 1968 Jack Selbig, 1969 Robert G. Whittemore, 1970-1971 James T. Richardson, 1971-1972 Elmer R. Rusco, 1972-1975


Arranged in chronological order by subject.
A Guide to the Records of the Human Relations Commission
Karen Gash
Approximately 1999
Description rules

Repository Details

Part of the University of Nevada, Reno. University Archives Repository

Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center
1664 N. Virginia St.
University of Nevada, Reno
Reno NV 89557-0322 USA
775-682-5724 (Fax)