University of Nevada, Reno, Office of the President records

Identifier: AC 0172
This finding aid includes a chronological listing of presidents to facilitate use of the records, and a copy of the finding aid located with each specific collection. In 1986 the indexing system was retired (AC 2 13, Box 13) and a new system implemented (key to this system is available in the finding aid to AC 245).


  • 1975-1981



Collection is open for research. Materials must be used on-site; advance notice suggested. Access to parts of this collection may be restricted under provisions of state or federal law.


48 Cubic Feet


Collection contains correspondence, reports, memorandums, and other records from the office of the president of the University of Nevada, Reno, 1975-1981. Presidents serving during this period are Max C. Milam, 1974-1978, and Joseph N. Crowley, appointed in 1978.

Administrative History

The president is the chief administrative officer of the University of Nevada, Reno; duties and responsibilities are prescribed by the Board of Regents, and may be assisted in the conduct of the duties of the office by vice-presidents and other administrators. The president may also establish and appoint boards and committees.

*In 1965, Charles J. Armstrong decided there should be a chief academic officer on each campus. He continued to be president, but there was a chancellor for each campus, N. Edd Miller at Reno and Donald Moyer at Las Vegas. When Armstrong left, Neil Humphrey became acting president. But when the reorganization of 1968 came, the titles were switched, and Humphrey, as the chief administrative officer for the regents, assumed the title of Chancellor and the other two became presidents. (per James Hulse, 8/1997, on the dates for presidents Arrnstrong and Miller for the Honor Court it was felt appropriate to list Armstrong as president until 1965, and Miller in 1965, as Miller was in fact the top administrator for this campus beginning at that time.)


The records of the office of the President are arranged as several different collections. As each deposit was made it was assigned an archives collection number, and the inclusive dates of the collection noted. These dates do overlap, as selected record series were retained for longer retention until deposit. The indexing system has varied over the years but subject indexing with numerical location is prevalent; a copy of the index is located with each collection.

Immediate Source of Acquisition

Transferred from President's Office; 1985.

Related Materials

Also see The University of Nevada: A Centennial History by James Hulse, 1974, pg. 71.


Leon W. Hartman 1938-1943
John 0. Moseley 1944-1949
Malcolm A. Love 1950-1952
Minard W. Stout 1952-1957
Charles J. Armstrong 1958-1965
N. Edd Miller 1965-1973
Max C. Milam 1974-1978
Joseph N. Crowley 1978
Stephen A. Jones 1890=1894
Joseph E. Stubbs 1894-1914
Archer W. Hendrick 1914-1917
Walter E. Clark 1918-1938
Leroy D. Brown 1887-1889
University of Nevada, Reno, Office of the President records
Karen Gash
Approximately 2000

Repository Details

Part of the University of Nevada, Reno. University Archives Repository

Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center
1664 N. Virginia St.
University of Nevada, Reno
Reno NV 89557-0322 USA
775-682-5724 (Fax)